Vegetarian capsules are best for consumers who do not take animal-derived products (such as gelatin) or who cannot consume animal products due to dietary restrictions. Additionally, people with religious issues may opt for vegetarian capsules.
In terms of stability and solubility, capsules made of cellulose (vegetarian capsules) are the best choice. Vegetarian capsules are less hygroscopic and therefore more stable than gelatin capsules, and vegetable hollow capsules have no residues such as preservatives.
The main raw material of plant hollow capsules is a plant fiber, which not only does not multiply bacteria. Tests have shown that plant hollow capsules can keep the number of microorganisms within the national standard range when placed in ordinary environments for a long time. Plant hollow capsules have a looser filling environment, reducing production costs for animals.
It is important to note that the capsule must have the sufficient mechanical strength to handle the pressure. Compared to other capsule types, gelatin capsules have higher mechanical strength. Capsules made of gelatin are much stronger than capsules of different materials. So, if you want a mechanically stable capsule, those made with gelatin prevail.